Coding with Friends

I’ve been working on my CS project, recreating the classic MineSweeper, for class and I’m almost done. Technically, it works which is very exciting but I’m still missing some of the testing that needs to be done. The thing about coding is that it is extremely frustrating but quite rewarding when you finally finish something. There’s a certain elation that cannot be compared to any other when you see a completely green bar upon submission accompanied by an immediately gratifying “100% Problem Coverage.” Many times I want to give up on the testing and just take the score I have but for some reason I keep coming back to it to try and get that 5% I’m missing.

I’ve also met a bunch of people along the way, computer science majors have the stereotype of being nerdy and socially awkward but they really aren’t. Often, many of us would be in office hours trying to get help for the same project but there’s usually only one TA for a bunch of us. While we’re waiting in line for the TA, everyone tends to talk to the person near them and try to help each other out since each is respectively stuck on their own code. Sometimes someone will leave the line because someone else has helped them figure out their code. It’s a great way to meet your peers because everyone is equally frustrated, that’s how I met my boyfriend.

Aside from spending my “free time” trying to write this program, I’ve mostly kept up with my regular runs at the gym (I skipped two days because I was busy) and I went to a career fair. It’s always intimidating when I go up to people and introduce myself because then I have to talk about myself and why “I’m qualified and a good fit for the internship.” I need to improve my confidence, communication ability, and just find out a way to decrease my overall awkwardness. Oh life. New goal: Improve?

Leave a comment